skip navigation

Central Boys Banquet

06/03/2019, 11:45am EDT
By Kathy Judge

Danny Karbassiyoon

This past Thursday, May 30th, the Central U8-U19 boys teams and their families gathered to celebrate the 2018/19 season at the annual Boys Banquet. It was a fun night as parents mingled and boys bid to win fun prizes such as soccer gear, gift cards, games and toys, candy, and Liverpool swag.

Attendees were treated to hear guest speaker Danny Karbassiyoon, a former American professional soccer player, who at the age of 18 signed a contract to play for Arsenal in the English Premier League.  He also had short stints at Ipswich Town and Burnley on loan, after which he worked as the Chief North American scout for Arsenal.  Danny wrote about his experiences as an American playing in England in "The Arsenal Yankee."

Before more than 550 guests, Danny shared his experiences and three key points on his success in soccer -- through a strong passion for the game, a goal-driven mentality, and good character to handle the ups and downs of his playing career.

Each team was then recognized by their respective coach, and awards were given out to players from U12-U19 teams based on player votes and coaches votes.  The seniors in attendance also received special recognition and an LFC sweatshirt as a gift. 

To wrap up the evening, Coaches Kevin Garner and Steve Cook awarded two seniors each with a $1,000 scholarship to use toward college on behalf of the club.  Nicholas Mancani received the Dan O’Shea Memorial Scholarship, in memory our our dear friend and colleague.  Alberto Hernandez received the Servant Leadership Scholarship.  It was presented by Manny Amezcua, club parent and President and CEO of Mass Mutual Great Lakes, and given in honor of his immigrant father for the values he instilled in his children. 

#  #  #

Central Boys Teams Players Award Coaches Award
2007 Souness Anthony Mancani Salvatore Di Noto
2007 Shankly Liam Garner Landon Nilson
2007 Beardsley Cam Harst Cam Harst
2006 Reina Carlos Acosta Adam Sokolowski
2006 Redknapp Lorenzo Garrisi John Draper
2006 Keegan Vilay Thammavongsa Kai Tanafranca
2005 St John Greg Cothron Louis Putman
2005 Dalglish Zach Femminineo Enzo Bordogna
2004 Paisley Somphayvanh Thammavongsa Alban Shaholi
2004 Gerrard Hayden Dzurisin Joey Kirner
2003 Fowler Blake Kaufman Brooks Brissette
2003 Keegan Victor Victor Mangrulkar Nick Pecktol
2002 Shankly Logan Petz Alberto Ferdinandi
2002 Alonso Dominic Curti Ethan Wise
2001 Carragher Derek Larson Logan Cooper
2000 Dalglish McClain Zaremba Jake Caton

Tag(s): Home  Club News